His Sleep Routine 

Coming 2 months old, Kryston sleeps from 10pm to 7am with 1 or 2 in-between wakes for brief nursing. Auntie Ruilian had set a sleep routine allowing him to recognise day & night. Every night Auntie Ruilian will talk to Kryston, ,”喝奶就睡了ok (After milk, it’s time to sleep)”  Its like a daily drill.

She told me, “Kryston needs to sleep with the lights off. ”


Indeed. At 9.30pm Kryston gets cranky if he’s not in bed or the bedroom lights is still on. So we learnt to switch off the lights & have a dim light at a corner.


So our sleep routine goes:

10pm

  • Diffuse Gentle Baby oil with sleeping light on
  • Bedroom lights off
  • A bottle of formula milk
  • Nurse him to sleep (if necessary)
  • Burp & zzz

I had planned exclusive breastmilk but Kryston had jaundice…

Common factors for newborn jaundice

  • Genes (In my health booklet, I had jaundice at birth)
  • Mother & Baby have different blood group
  • Early birth (I delivered at 37 weeks)
  • Diet (Ginger during confinement)

After I omitted ginger in my diet, his jaundice didn’t show any signs of fading. Auntie Ruilian was concerned & suggested getting formula. She gave Kryston only a bottle for his night feed. Initially, Kryston didn’t want formula but Auntie Ruilian overcome the rejection within days. She’s our saviour in many ways. I’m good with formula, easier for care takers.

The idea worked. His jaundice improved and best of all, he could sleep longer. “

So far my sleepless night has happened twice. That’s when Kryston hits Growth Spurt, he would need his feed every 2 hours, even at night.

It’s unavoidable to sleep well with newborn and I’m all good to be there for my baby boy.

Leave a Reply

