Missing A Gem 

Longest time since my last entry… I’ve been busy with newborn and nursing routine. Using a Korea breast pump S1 Spectra hospital grade & Honey Suckle Milk Storage Bags.


On the 19th Jul, my confinement lady left. I was emotional & teared. Not used to her absence, my house was quieter and cold as the recent rainy weather. Miss her singing to baby, daily meals together & our afternoon tea chat. When Auntie Ruilian was around, she would fill my house with her unexpected “cuteness” & wisdom. When she doesn’t smile, she may appear fierce but once she opens up, she’s a caring & fun person.


My helper, Lisa arrived few days after I delivered. She’s super hardworking and takes initiative in organising my home especially the much neglected kitchen cabinets. All good except, she didn’t have any cooking experience for Chinese food.

With very limited English vocabs, Auntie Ruilian found her way to train Lisa. She was rather strict. At times I overheard they “disturb” each other in the kitchen. Lisa and her mentor developed a special bond. Auntie Ruilian is happy that I appreciate Lisa & treat her well. When I take them out to restaurants, Auntie Ruilian asked to order coke for Lisa.

After Auntie Ruilian left for another client, I was gloomy and teared. Best Friend B was on the phone being there for me.

Before Auntie left, she burped my newborn for the last time and said with a gentle voice, “你不要着这样看我,我也舍不得你可是我们还是要分开的吗……你要乖乖听mummy papa 的话 Ok”

Maybe telepathy, I could feel Kryston feeling sad & helpless about her departure. He didn’t throw tantrum but once, he revealed a sad expression. My heartache terribly.

Serena’s world only lit up when Auntie Ruilian WeChat me telling me she misses us and we had to & fo voice chat. She knew baby & I were sad and did her best to cheer me. I was elated to receive her voice chat. Auntie Ruilian is now working with another family and I hope she will be as happy Everyday.

Thankful for God’s arrangement. Lisa picked up the essential cooking & baby care skills. I had wanted to bathe Kryston but she did it and did well.


Her cooking far exceeded my expectation too. My mum was more than pleased. Auntie Ruilian really taught well.

Auntie Ruilian left her water bottle at my place, in a month’s time she will come my place to visit us 🙂

Leave a Reply

