Pregnancy Cravings #1: Famous Sungei Rd Laksa

In my first trimester, I shunned food pics and unfollowed many food bloggers in my instagram. My pregnancy have caused hormone changes, one of the changed was diverse effect on my perspective towards food. I felt miserable thinking about what to eat all the time as all I ever wanted was plain porridge.

And just recently, my appetite have returned … with an extra punch of cravings every now and then. When Bret was playing poker with his colleagues at our house, I was resting in the bedroom watching youtube clips. Then I chanced upon Mark Weins introduction of Legendary Sungei Rd Laksa. Since then, I was thinking about the laksa non-stop. The following day, I told my parents about a laksa I want to eat and was surprised that they had eaten the laksa since they were kids. They have only brought me to eat Katong Laksa and I used to love it. The current standard of Katong Laksa is very different from my childhood taste and I’m not into it now. But one thing for sure, I’m a laksa lover so I hope Sungei Rd Laksa can just be the best I’m going to have!

Pictures source from Food In Mouth

laksa

Fuelled by charcoal, the laksa broth was light and tasty. A little on the salty side but still wonderful. Love the fresh cockles and ingredients. Like Katong Laksa, there is no need for chopsticks and for every mouth, you get to taste the flavourful broth & laksa noodle with fresh ingredients. A traditional Singapore laksa worthy for return and we saw a continous queue throughout the stall’s opening hours.

man

My parents called this stall, “Kek Sng Kio” Laksa in hokkien dialect or “结霜桥” in Chinese. According to my mum, the uncle used to be a laksa peddler and my grandpa had brought her to enjoy the then-50 cents laksa. By the road, my mum & her siblings would stand and eat the delicious bowl of laksa. I asked my mum if the laksa still taste the same, she replied “broth is slightly different but still nice”.

The laksa is now priced at $3 per bowl. We also bought the Popiah from other stalls which was good as well.

Sungei Road Laksa
Address: Block 27, Jalan Berseh #01-100 Jin Shui Kopitiam
Opening Hours: 9am – 6pm, Closed on 1st and 3rd Wednesday of the month

 

Leave a Reply

