Food for Thoughts

Haven’t been blogging as I was busy with the closing of my company financial year in November as well as hiring new staff for our business. I still bring my parents out for lunch treats every now and then whenever I accomplished an achievement in my career.

Surprised my folks with a treat to Thai Village at Kallang Stadium, they were more than happy. Another week, I brought them to Ju Shin Jung for Korea Bbq. They fell in love with the black pork collar, ginseng chicken soup and side dishes at my favourite korean restuarant.

Seeing the glow on my parents face brought me warmth. They couldn’t help but take pictures of the food to remember the good times. Growing up with the love of parents, bringing them to new places or their favourite places for meal is just one of the things I can do to make them happy. There is no need to wait for special occassions to bring parents out or do something they like 🙂

My mum told me I have chosen the right career paths in gaining meaningful satisfaction and achieve work-life balance. She is glad that I can bring them out in during off peak hour and spent quality time with them. It came naturally for me to see the need to look ahead if you have to make decision that is going to bring a turning point in life. My reason for being self-employed was cyrstal clear since graduation, to have quality time with people I love…friends or family and … the freedom to grow my business.

At 22, I joined the workforce and I knew at then I do not want to live my weekdays with office politics, seeking approval for annual leave and most of all, I don’t like changing jobs or companies. I want to stay committed to a lifelong career, spend time with my parents when they retire, travel whenever I want to, get together with my friends even after having my own family.

Vision is important to me and I tend to visualise the actions and resources needed in the process before making an impactful decision. After drafting the plan in mind, I learnt from people who had succeeded and then get things moving.

Along the journey of making every little dream come true, I am thankful to be blessed with the kindest, supportive friends and family members who will always be there for me.

 

Leave a Reply

