Baby Chef: Bak Kwa

Leia’s coming gourmet at Mindchamps is Nian Gao 年糕 and so… I am motivated to try making Bak Kwa (Pork Jerky) at home since …I have all the ingredients at home. It is delicacy usually eaten during Chinese New Year.

My girl helped me prepare the marination of the minced pork with ingredients listed below.

IMG_6144

With my guidance, Leia moved the spoon in circular motion and explained the purpose of marination to her. Next, put the marinated pork into the fridge for an hour or more.

Recipe taken from a Famous Daddy Blogger, Cheekie Monkies

1. 2 tablespoons of fish sauce
2. 1/2 tablespoon of light soy sauce
3. 1/2 tablespoon of oyster sauce
4. 1/2 tablespoon of rice wine
5. 75g of sugar
6. 250g of minced pork

What you need:

1. Baking Sheet
2. Roller Pin

Look at the Chef’s face .. full of enthuasim! Basically I spooned some minced pork onto the baking sheet.

IMG_6134

Then, I fold the Baking Sheet into half. Time for some Rollin Rollin’

IMG_6139

Instead of oven, I used Philips Air Fryer. 180 degree celcius and 15 minutes. Towards 7-8mins, glazed with caramel syrup or honey and flip the side.

Screen Shot 2014-01-19 at 9.12.55 pm

Texture is of commercial standard and good thing is, can adjust sweetness or saltiness. I tried using my oven to “grill” but the outcome isn’t as good as air fried bak kwa.

Leia loves home made bak kwa and she kept asking for more. I reccomend making home made bak kwa, be it for fun, for customised taste and family bonding activity.

11 thoughts on “Baby Chef: Bak Kwa

  1. Hi! Thanks for sharing this recipe! Do you air fry w the baking sheet? If so, did you remove the baking sheet when you flip and coat or you coat and put it back?

    • Hi Sorry late reply, I followed the recipe taken from another blogger. After 2nd batch I did adjust the saltiness / sweetness to my preferred taste. Somehow mine came out brownish red without colouring. Could be effects of photo filter

Leave a Reply

