His Bro’s Girlfriend

家家有本难念的经…

When I first knew 15 year old Bret, he actually brought along his brother-then in primary school to meet me. They came over my place to play xbox games with my brothers. I remembered preparing milo and biscuits for their tea break.

At their place, Bret and his little bro taught me how to play mahjiong and we often play 3-players mahjiong to kill time. Played nintendo games, watched tv and ate homecooked dinner together.

The Bro’s Gf

His bro grew up and started having girlfriends. During his poly days, he went into a relationship with his sec schoolmate named Melissa. She takes good care of his brother but …somehow she doesnt talks to me and other cousins in the family. Initially I thought she is just shy..even though she is a teacher. But incidents after another, I think she just want to treat me and my own family members transparent. For more than 5 years, we have not had a conversation. Its awful to sit with her at same table and she have this “i dont want to talk to you” look.

Her profile

She is a MOE teacher who teaches music and english in a school located at east area. For her sideline, she teaches tuition and piano. She bakes cakes, biscuits and makes desserts. My mil is a career women and she feels good about melissa who is also actively making money from all her sidelines. More important, when the bro is sick, she is there for him. But i supposed its normal for girlfriends to do that.

Whats wrong with her

She is very particular about Bret wearing her bf’s shirts that were bought by her. Bret & his bro had this minor conflict ever since she came into their life. To Bret and me, both are brothers and sharing is fine. I had seen his bro wearing a $300+ Zegna working shirt that was bought by me. I felt nothing negstive & in fact, hope the shirt was comfortable and just right for the bro although it was meant for Bret.

It was getting clear to me that she does not want to acknowledge the presence of me and family(Leia & my parents). Few times, Leia went to the bro’s room and I happened to see that she ignored my little girl coldly. And the bro I knew likes children but whenever Melissa is around, he kinda not himself towards Leia. I cannot help feel sad that Leia’s uncle indifferent behavior is linked to the girlfriend.

Whenever she comes to our place, she walks her way making sure her eyes does not meet mine. Has that aloof look. When my mil is talking to us or attending to leia, she will not greet her. And I felt it was enough when she ignored my parents too.

One afternoon

My parents went home with me. My mum was smiling in a friendly manner thinking Melissa who was sitting at the living room watching tv, might greet her. To our disappointment, she treated my parents transparent even though it was obvious that she knew we are back.

I will always remember that cant-be-bothered look on her face as she shook her legs eating tibits at the sofa. In my mind, what teacher is this? Without basic manners, what is she teaching the children?

Her manners

My mil was telling us the bro will be bringing friends to our new place from time to time. We are okay & for the first time ever, Bret and I revealed our concern about Melissa’s manners problem towards my parents and my mil said its the thing about teachers. Well… regardless, I told my mil its fine if she ignores me or leia but its heartbreaking for me to see an outsider being rude to my parents in my own house. Bret asked mil to think about how many times have Melissa not greet her. My mil nodded and let out finally. She gave us an example and told us she used sarcastic remarks to remind the bro n gf.

Haiz. When you marry someone, you marry the whole family.

In my new house, his bro will be staying with us while my mil stays with the aunt in another block 5 mins away. For me, I am fine with his bro as he is after all Bret’s brother. He still greets my parents when he sees them, just that he has become like the gf? Ignore me and bret. I dont know, just dont feel good about the bro’s gf.

Bizarre profile and attitude. Since the day I met her, we barely talk and I have not done anything to her. I had even praised the cakes she baked. Seriously puzzled. Only played mahjiong with the brother and I know she is not in favour of mahjiong. Is that the reason? Lame enough to be.

It was hard to believe the recently reported case about 25 year old kindergarten teacher ill treating a little girl in class. Just as hard to believe a MOE teacher lacks basic manners.

Leave a Reply

